Blog post 8 “The Body”

The article by Susan Bordo, “Unbearable Weight” was very interesting. I agree that society makes weight a focus. I agree that the media is much to blame for the way women and young girls view themselves. I find it interesting that the ideal weight early on was a heavier, curvy, build. I know over time it has changed greatly. Seeing model’s now days verses the beautiful women then shows how dramatically weight has shifted over the centuries. The never ending balance that people try to attain with diet and weight is disturbing. In a perfect world people would all realize that it’s not what is on the outside that matters, it is what is on the inside. I am not sure if people will ever understand fully that one’s heart is what is important.

The problems of anexoria and bulima have been around for years. I have never personally known anyone who has had to suffer through these issues. I have seen many shows about it though. The thought of denying your body of food is mind blowing. I also do not understand the bulima issue much. The author describes it well, but I have a hard time with the concept.

Our nation does have an obesity problem. I do remember a time when it did not seem so bad. I would agree with the author about talk shows. I watch those women on Maury bringing there two year olds on and bragging that they let them eat whatever they want. I feel bad for the child. I also agree that seeing so many food ads on the television set or billboards does increase our weight. It does make it harder to choose a salad when staring at a Big Mac picture.

I thought this was a very interesting article. I found it very informative, truthful, and agreed with the majority of how society is.

One thought on “Blog post 8 “The Body”

  1. Lori, I’m glad you have a lot to say about this article, and I agree that there is certainly a fine line between eating too much and being actually unhealthy, and denying yourself food. I hope our class discussion helped you to see in more detail how Bordo made her point/synthesized ideas from various sources.

Leave a Reply

